Christmas Craft for Kids

It’s just 2 days before Christmas and you can really feel the holiday rush. Traffic everywhere, crowded shopping malls and almost everyone is hunting for that last minute gift; i know the feeling because I used to be one of those peope hustling and bustling at this time of year. But since i’m 33 weeks pregnant, this momma can’t just manage to sashay and dance to the holiday groove. 

I’m a bit bored i must say. Slowing down when the rest of the world is on its feet is something new to me. I was ordered by my OB-GYN to take some bedrest (bed arrest, if you ask me) due to some contractions I experienced last week. 

But i can’t stand not doing anything. So i guess i tried to find ways to still be active & productive without being too stressed. I did tasks that i can do in the comfort of my bed. Some of it involved activities with my 3 year old daughter, Elle. We would read stories out loud, watch movies (Frozen, most if not all the time). But the one I enjoy the most is creating holiday crafts with her. I saw some crafts on Pinterest that can easily be done by a toddler with minimal supervision. 

First, i rummaged thru my craft box filled with materials I’ve hoarded throughout the years. 

I found these corrugated boards in different colors. 

I decided that we’re gonna make a snowman and a Christmas tree. So i cut the boards into shapes that we’re going to use for this activity. 

Now time to assemble these. We used glue stick for the bigger shapes but opted to use double sided tapes for those little tacky ones. It’s much easier for Elle to stick it onto the paper. 

Here she is enjoying the activity. 😊


This activity did not only bring out her creativity but also tested her patience as well. I tried as much as possible to let her decorate it on her own, and there are some instances where she can’t seem to put all those little pieces together, but it’s amazing how she was able to finish the work without really soliciting help from me. (I know, proud mommy moment!) 


The finished product! Sense of accomplishment is written all over her face! 👍

I’m planning to hang these artworks on our wall and make it one of our traditions as well. 

So i guess slowing down is not really bad after all. You get to appreciate little things that would have gone unnoticed. If I wasn’t pregnant and needed some rest, I probably would be out of the house doing holiday errands & wouldn’t even have time to do these little things with Elle. Things do happen for a reason eh? 😊 

P.S make sure to have some wet wipes handy, coz that glue really is sticky!!! 😁

What about you? What are the activities that your family do to bond during holiday season? I’d like to learn some more. 🎄

About starloveslife

wife to Angel, mom to Elle & Khaela , a chef wannabe and a lover of life.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment